MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

BY MAC
4.3/5     4 Reviews

Product Description

MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation is a one-step powder and foundation formula that offers medium to full coverage. It delivers an all matte finish that is velvety and allows the skin to breathe without clogging pores. This long-wearing formula stays intact for about 12 hours without caking, streaking, creasing, or fading. MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation is available in 53 shades.

Product Reviews

4/5

4 Ratings & 4 Reviews

80%

Would recommend this to a friend

PROS

Matte finish

Non-comedogenic

Non-streaking

Long-wearing formula

Oil and shine control

Non-fading

Non-caking

Non-settling/creasing

CONS

Expensive

Light to medium coverage

This is never leaving my side!
4.6/5

PROS

Controls oil

Matte finish

Suitable for oily skin

Non-acnegenic

Works as a powder and foundation

Breathable

CONS

Expensive

Lasts 5 to 6 hours without primer


MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation was one of my first few MAC products. I had read such mixed reviews about it, and so I was skeptical. I am a fan of compacts. It’s such an independent product, like you can just wear your compact over your moisturizer and last through the day. And the idea of powder + foundation really impressed me.

I matched with the shade NC35 at the MAC store and it felt like the perfect match. At the store when I used it, I was wearing makeup. I tested the powder on the jawline, and it did feel like the right match, but I wasn’t sure.

The first time I tried it was over my moisturizer and primer. I used the regular fluffy powder brush to apply it evenly all over my face, and I instantly fell in love with it. It offers medium coverage so it didn’t cover all the spots on my skin but it looked so beautifully natural. I set it with a setting spray and left it on for the day. It lasted very well for about 7 to 8 hours after which I felt it was getting patchy. But, I didn’t mind that.

I love the fact that this powder plus foundation can be used both with and without foundation. With foundation, it looks even better. I am a fan of the velvety matte finish it offers. Although, I do feel it’s a little expensive, and therefore, I use it sparingly. But, I’m definitely never going to stop using it.

Perfect substitute for foundation!
4.1/5

PROS

Matte finish

Lightweight

Perfect for everyday use

Works well without primer

CONS

Not very long-lasting

Transfers


I do not like using foundation. It’s too much work to work with a foundation. It sometimes ends up looking like an artificial layer of skin on the face and sometimes like there is nothing on. I bought MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation so I could skip foundation for good.

I use this powder every day to work and have never felt the need for anything else on my face. I have combination skin, and the T-zone tends to get oily after a few hours. I use blotting paper to blot the oil, and some of the powder comes off. I retouch after blotting, and then it lasts for another 2 to 3 hours. Overall, the staying power is okay. It transfers and doesn’t control oil very well.

But, apart from this, there is nothing else I can complain about. I am happy with the results I’m getting from this MAC powder.

Definitely not for people with dry skin!
3/5

PROS

Easy to blend

Matte finish

Easy application

CONS

Not suitable for dry skin

Expensive

Accentuates dry patches and fine lines


I never expected this amazing product to not work on me. All of my friends use this product, and they swear by how amazing it is. But, it didn’t work for me.

Every time I use it, with or without primer, it settles into the dry patches and fine lines of my face and makes my skin appear drier than what it actually is. I bought this expensive product because I never heard a bad review.

The one time I used it as a setting powder over my foundation, it did work fine. But, I am not happy with the way it behaves otherwise.

Flawless coverage and completely matte!
4.2/5

PROS

Oil-control

Smooth matte finish

Medium to full coverage

CONS

Causes breakouts

Expensive


For my oily skin, this product is no less than a holy grail. It offers full coverage, even without foundation, and controls my oil. I wear it all day long, and its lasting power is also pretty good.

Some days it makes my skin breakout, but it’s only occasional, and I am okay with it. I love this product because I don’t have to carry my foundation around separately. It perfectly does the job of both the things.

Top Questions And Answers

March 5, 2019

What are the shades available in MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation?

Ankita TiwariMarch 6, 2019

Ankita TiwariMarch 6, 2019

There are 53 shades available in this range:

  • C2- Very Fair Beige with Golden Undertone
  • C3- Beige with Neutral Golden Undertone, for light to medium skin
  • C3.5- Light Peach with Golden Undertone, for light to medium skin
  • C30- Light Golden Beige Olive with Golden Undertone, for light to medium skin
  • C35- Medium Golden Olive with Golden Undertone, for light to medium skin
  • C4- Peachy Golden with Golden Undertone, for light to medium skin
  • C4.5- Peachy Golden with Neutral Undertone, for medium skin
  • C40- Medium Golden Olive with Golden Undertone, for medium to dark skin
  • C5- Peachy Beige with Golden Undertone, for medium skin
  • C5.5- Mid Tone Peach with Peachy Undertone, for medium skin
  • C6- Tanned Peach with Peach Undertones, for medium to dark skin
  • C7- Golden Bronze with Peachy Undertone, for medium to dark skin
  • C8- Deep Golden Olive With Golden Undertone, for dark skin
  • N3- Very Fair Beige with Rosy Undertone, for light skin
  • N4- Fair Beige with Neutral Undertone, for light skin
  • N5- Rosy Beige with Neutral Undertone, for light to medium skin
  • N9- Deep Auburn with Red Undertones, for dark skin
  • NC10- Very Fair Beige with Neutral Golden Undertone, for light skin
  • NC15- Fair Beige with Neutral Undertone, for light skin
  • NC20- Golden Beige with Golden Undertone, for light skin
  • NC25- Light Golden Beige With Golden Undertone, for light to medium skin
  • NC30- Golden Olive with Golden Undertone, for light to medium skin
  • NC35- Neutral Beige with Golden Undertone, for medium skin
  • NC40- Golden Beige with Neutral Undertone, for medium skin
  • NC41- Peachy Beige with Peachy Undertone, for medium skin
  • NC42- Tanned Peach with Golden Undertones, for medium to dark skin
  • NC43- Burnt Peach with Golden Undertones, for medium to dark skin
  • NC43.5- Neutral Peach with Golden Undertone, for medium to dark skin
  • NC44.5- Golden Peach with Golden Undertone, for medium to dark skin
  • NC45- Deep Bronze with Peachy Undertone, for dark skin
  • NC46- Rich Brown with Golden Undertone, for deep dark skin
  • NC47- Rich Brown with Neutral Undertone, for deep dark skin
  • NC50- Deep Golden Bronze with Golden Undertone, for dark skin
  • NC55- Deepest Golden Bronze with Golden Undertone, for dark skin
  • NW10- Very Fair Beige with Neutral Rosy Undertones, for light skin
  • NW13- Light Beige with Rosy Undertone, for light skin
  • NW15- Very Fair Beige with Neutral Undertone, for light skin
  • NW18- Light Beige with Neutral Undertone, for light skin
  • NW20- Rosy Beige with Rosy Undertone, for light skin
  • NW22- Beige with Neutral Undertone, for light to medium skin
  • NW25- Mid Tone Beige with Rosy Undertone, for light to medium skin
  • NW30- Medium Beige with Rosy Undertone, for medium skin
  • NW33- Medium Beige with Neutral Undertone, for medium skin
  • NW35- Medium Beige with Neutral Rosy Undertone, for medium skin
  • NW40- Tanned Beige with Rosy Undertone, for medium to dark skin
  • NW43- Bronze Beige with Bronze Undertone, for medium to dark skin
  • NW44- Neutral Undertone, for medium to dark skin
  • W45- Deep Auburn with Neutral Undertones, for dark skin
  • NW46- Toasted Auburn with Red Undertones, for dark skin
  • NW48- Bronzed Brown with Neutral Undertone, for deep dark skin
  • NW50- Rich Mahogany with Red Undertones, for deep dark skin
  • NW55- Rich Brown with Red Undertone, for deep dark skin
  • NW58- Rich Espresso with Neutral Undertones, for deep dark skin

March 4, 2019

What does N, C, and W stand for in MAC?

Aparna SinghMarch 5, 2019

Aparna SinghMarch 5, 2019

  • N stands for Neutral, C stands for Cool, and W stands for Warm in the MAC Color System.
  • NC stands for Neutral Cool for yellow, golden, and olive undertones.
  • NW stands for Neutral Warm for pink, red, and blue undertones.

March 3, 2019

What are the ingredients present in the MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation?

Shreya NarainMarch 4, 2019

Shreya NarainMarch 4, 2019

These are the ingredients present in the product:

  • Talc
  • Silica
  • Methicone
  • Caprylyl Glycol
  • Hexylene Glycol
  • Phenoxyethanol
  • Isostearyl Palmitate
  • May contain: [+/- Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288), Ultramarines (Ci 77007)]

March 2, 2019

Does this Powder Plus Foundation offer full coverage?

Isha RajgopalMarch 3, 2019

Isha RajgopalMarch 3, 2019

The MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation offers medium to full buildable coverage with a matte finish.

March 1, 2019

Which skin types does this foundation best suit?

Sadia BaigMarch 2, 2019

Sadia BaigMarch 2, 2019

MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation is suitable for all skin types, but it is best suited for combination and oily skin types.

February 28, 2019

How to use the MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation?

Mala RaghuramMarch 1, 2019

Mala RaghuramMarch 1, 2019

To use this Powder Plus Foundation:

  • Prep your skin with moisturizer and primer.
  • For medium coverage: Use a fluffy powder brush to evenly apply the powder for lighter coverage.
  • For full coverage: Use a sponge applicator for fuller coverage.
  • Set the makeup with a makeup setting spray.

February 27, 2019

Can this product be used both dry and wet?

Arti SethiaFebruary 28, 2019

Arti SethiaFebruary 28, 2019

No. For best results, it is recommended that the product only be used dry.