Revlon Colorstay Makeup For Combination/Oily Skin

BY Revlon
3.9/5
    4 Reviews

Product Description

Revlon Colorstay Makeup For Combination/Oily Skin is a long-wearing liquid foundation. It is infused with Release Technology and is lightweight. It controls oil production and shine and stays matte all day long. The foundation provides medium to full buildable coverage while protecting your skin from the UV rays with SPF 15. It is available in 43 shades to match a range of skin tones.

Product Reviews

3.9/5

4 Ratings & 4 Reviews

80%

Would recommend this to a friend

PROS

Extensive shade range

Controls oil and shine

Contains SPF 15

Offers medium to full coverage

CONS

Inconvenient packaging

Thick consistency

Contains parabens

Dries out fast

A Holy Grail foundation for broke college girls
4.7/5

PROS

Affordable

Controls oil

Non-acnegenic

Very long-lasting

Adequate quantity

Doesn’t crack or crease

CONS

None


How much ever I want to use expensive, high-end brands, the truth is, I cannot afford them. I am a broke college girl who cannot afford to look dead and ugly, so I need makeup and have to settle for drugstore products. Revlon Colorstay Makeup For Combination/Oily Skin is perfect for us girls looking for a long-lasting foundation on a budget.

It is specially formulated for people with oily/combination skin, and that’s what I love about it. Also, like other high-end brands, Revlon has also launched more than 40 shades to choose from. I found the perfect match for my skin tone, which matched my undertone as well.

It’s excellent at what it does. It’s a little thick, so blending is a challenge. If not done on time, it tends to dry out. But, once blended and dried, there is nothing else to do. It does not require a setting spray, although I always use a primer. It does control the oil production up to a limit and also doesn’t let shine get over my face. It stays matte for a good 7 to 8 hours, which I think is pretty decent for the price I am paying.

Also, for the kind of day I have, running around classes, a little bit of sports, and a little time for physical activity, this foundation surprisingly lasts through everything. It does not crease, crack, or get patchy. I think until I get super rich, I will continue using this one.

This foundation is seasonal…
3.5/5

PROS

Controls oil

Long-lasting

Great shade range

Good for summers

CONS

Too dry for winters


My combination skin tends to get very oily and sweaty during the summer. For this time of the year, Revlon Colorstay Makeup For Combination/Oily Skin does a great job. It controls oil and sweat, lasts all day (8 am to 7 pm). I use it every day and set it with a loose powder.

But, for the winters, it troubles me a lot. I think it has to do with the formulation of the foundation and the way my skin reacts to it. My skin gets dry and stretchy during the winters and produces oil only after 4 to 5 hours of wearing makeup. So when it is still dry, it gets tough to blend this foundation and get the desired result. And it kind of makes my skin more dry by absorbing the little moisture it produces.

I use it in summers, but for winters, I have to look for a new product.

Affordable and amazing
4.5/5

PROS

Lightweight

Controls oil

Long-wearing

Suitable for oily/combination skin

CONS

Medium coverage


For a drugstore foundation to perform this well is impressive. I did not have high expectations when I bought this one, but it has outdone all norms. It is affordable, and the quantity is amazing. It’s easy to blend and offers medium coverage. It dries out to be a complete matte and stays the same for the entire day.

For a person like me, who has oil dripping off of her face by the end of the day, this product tends to perform outstandingly. It absorbs oil and keeps me shine free. The only thing I think could be better is the packaging because using it when it’s nearing its end is a pain. Otherwise, there is nothing more I can ask from this product.

It does get oily!
3/5

PROS

Easy to apply

Medium coverage

CONS

Doesn’t last long

Tends to get oily


I am still in search of a foundation that will be my HG and every time I try a new foundation, it scares me. When I got this one, I was skeptical and excited because of all the good reviews. I applied it in the morning around 8 and by 3 pm, my face became terribly oily. It did not control the oil on my face at all.

I wished it worked for me because, apart from it getting oily, there is nothing major I hate about the foundation. I still use it on days I don’t have to go out for a long time. But for longer, hectic days, I prefer other foundations I own.

Top Questions And Answers

April 9, 2019

What are the shades available in this Revlon Colorstay Makeup For Combination/Oily Skin?

Christine SherleyApril 10, 2019

Christine SherleyApril 10, 2019

The foundation is available in 43 shades:

  • Cappuccino 410 - Deep with cool, pink-red undertones
  • Almond 355 - Medium/deep with cool, golden-pink undertones
  • Buff 150 - Light/medium with neutral, subtle light beige undertones
  • Butterscotch 315 - Medium with neutral, subtle golden undertones
  • Caramel 400 - Medium/deep with warm, dark golden-yellow undertones
  • Cashew 275 - Light/medium with neutral, subtle yellow-beige undertones
  • Chestnut 270 - Light/medium with cool undertones
  • Cinnamon 600 - Dark with warm, golden-brown undertones
  • Cocoa 520 - Deep with neutral, subtle olive undertones
  • Deep Honey 395 - Medium with warm, yellow-brown undertones
  • Dune 295 - Light/medium with warm, yellow-beige undertones
  • Early Tan 340 - Medium/deep with warm, beige undertones
  • Espresso 620 - Dark with warm, dark apricot-chocolate undertones
  • Fresh Beige 250 - Medium with cool, dark rose undertones
  • Golden Beige 300 - Medium with neutral, subtle peach undertones
  • Golden Caramel 360 - Medium/deep with cool, golden peach undertones
  • Honey Beige 455 - Medium/deep with neutral, subtle golden-brown undertones
  • Ivory 110 - Light with cool undertones
  • Java 620 - Dark with cool undertones
  • Light Honey 260 - Light/medium with warm, golden-apricot undertones
  • Macadamia 460 - Medium/deep with warm, brown-yellow undertones
  • Mahogany 440 - Deep with neutral, subtle olive-brown undertones
  • Medium Beige 240 - Medium with warm, beige undertones
  • Mocha 450 - Dark with neutral undertones
  • Natural Beige 220 - Medium with cool, light beige-pink undertones
  • Natural Ochre 175 - Light/medium with warm, yellow-apricot undertones
  • Natural Tan 330 - Medium/deep with neutral, subtle yellow-beige undertones
  • Nude 200 - Light/medium with cool, pink undertones
  • Oatmeal 140 - Light with neutral undertones
  • Pecan 510 - Deep with warm undertones
  • Rich Ginger 380 - Medium/deep with warm, golden apricot undertones
  • Rich Maple 390 - Medium with warm, light beige-brown undertones
  • Rich Tan 350 - Medium/deep with neutral, subtle pink-beige undertones
  • Sand Beige 180 - Medium with neutral, subtle olive undertones
  • Shell 285 - Light/medium with cool, beige-pink undertones
  • Sun Beige 392 - Medium with warm, golden-apricot undertones
  • Tawny 280 - Light/medium with neutral, subtle olive-beige undertones
  • Toast 370 - Medium/deep with warm, light apricot undertones
  • Toffee 375 - Medium/deep with warm, golden-brown undertones
  • True Beige 320 - Medium/deep with cool, light pink undertones
  • Vanilla 135 - Light/medium with neutral, subtle apricot undertones
  • Walnut 500 - Deep with cool, peach undertones
  • Warm Golden 310 - Medium with warm, apricot undertones

April 8, 2019

How to use the Revlon Colorstay Makeup For Combination/Oily Skin?

Agnes BurattaApril 9, 2019

Agnes BurattaApril 9, 2019

To use the foundation:

  • Take the product on the back of your hand, warm it up, and apply dots of it all over your face and neck.
  • Blend using fingers, brush, or sponge.
  • Build up for more coverage.

April 7, 2019

What are the ingredients present in the Revlon Colorstay Makeup For Combination / Oily Skin?

Remy MiaApril 8, 2019

Remy MiaApril 8, 2019

This is the list of ingredients:

Active Ingredients

  • Titanium Dioxide (7.3%

Inactive Ingredients

  • Nylon 12
  • Alumina
  • Methicone
  • Trisiloxane
  • Tribehenin
  • Isododecane
  • Propylparaben
  • Butylene Glycol
  • Boron Nitride
  • Methylparaben
  • Dimethicone
  • SD Alcohol 40B
  • Polyisobutene
  • Cyclomethicone
  • Retinyl Palmitate
  • Sodium Chloride
  • Ethylene Brassylate
  • Tocopheryl Acetate
  • Tetrasodium EDTA
  • Aqua/Water (Water)
  • Sorbitan Sesquioleate
  • Trimethylsiloxysilicate
  • PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone
  • Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder)
  • Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily)
  • Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone
  • Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow)
  • Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract
  • Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract
  • Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer
  • May Contain: Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499).

April 6, 2019

Is this foundation good for dry skin?

Sharon SouzaApril 7, 2019

Sharon SouzaApril 7, 2019

No, this foundation is specially formulated for oily and combination skin types. It is not an ideal match for dry skin.

April 5, 2019

How long does the foundation last?

Elisa GreenApril 6, 2019

Elisa GreenApril 6, 2019

The long-wearing foundation has a stay power of 24 hours while controlling oil and shine on the face.

April 4, 2019

What finish does the foundation have, matte or dewy?

Katharine O'ConnorApril 5, 2019

Katharine O'ConnorApril 5, 2019

The Revlon Colorstay Makeup For Combination/Oily Skin offers a matte finish that lasts all day.